Dehydrator testing… Fruit leathers

Dehydrator testing… Fruit leathers

Hello πŸ™‚ Firstly can I say thank you to you all for reading Life Diet Health blog! I know I’ve said it before but I just wanted you all to know that you are all appreciated! and appreciated some more! πŸ™‚ For reading, for liking, for commenting, for suggestions and for following! πŸ™‚

I am not disappearing but I need to rearrange a few things over the next couple of months so I might not be posting as often! When I do post, you might find I just give you a photo and brief ingredients, or there again I might just go rambling on like I often do! πŸ˜› πŸ™‚ Anyway, please keep liking and commenting πŸ™‚ and if I don’t reply to your comments for a few days or a few more than that, please forgive me… I will get around to it eventually! πŸ™‚Β I have lots of recipes waiting to be posted but it’s finding the time and the energy along with everything else which I have suddenlyΒ been asked to do!

For now… here’s an experiment we did in our new (cheap to see if we use it enough) dehydrator!

Fruit leathers.. literally blended fruits and a touch of spice (or not), 12-14 hours in the dehydrator on 40-50 degrees! We used apples and cinnamon for the first one and redcurrants, blackcurrants, raspberries and apple for the second. We are VERY happy with the results and have already made batch number two! πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “Dehydrator testing… Fruit leathers

    • Hi Kristine☺ and thanks for visiting Life Diet Health ☺ I’m certain fruit leathers can be made in the oven but you might have to play with the temperatures and timing! I wouldn’t suggest leaving the house or going to bed with the oven on (even on low) just to be on the safe side! Let me know how you get on if you decide to have a little play!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I used a dehydrator long ago for tomatoes was easier than when I canned them, but when I tried fruit didn’t care for the way it came out. Still rounding through a-z, trying to keep the momentum going.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Sandy and welcome to Life Diet Health πŸ™‚ Hopefully like me you’ve found a load of new blogs through the A-Z challenge πŸ™‚ Canning??? Ooo.. that’s different! I’ve already made a few batches of semi dried peppery tomatoes in the dehydrator yumyum! Chunky pineapple is good and my hubby loves his dehydrated melon… still lots of things to try! Thanks for visiting πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Hello πŸ™‚ Thanks for the question πŸ™‚ We’ve been wanting to get a dehydrator for ages but as the one we wanted was quite expensive we’ve been putting it off! We decided last week to just buy a cheap one (rectangular) to see if we use it enough but it DOES take up a lot of space on the worktop especially having to find somewhere to put the spare trays (ours has 6). So far so good and there’s so many things you can make… waiting for my crackers to finish! πŸ™‚ Hope that’s helpful? πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

