C = Chocolate! :)

C = Chocolate!

Day three of the A-Z challenge and so near to Easter ‘C’ could only be for ‘chocolate’ ! 🙂 This was an experiment which has been meaning to happen for a long time and I am more than happy with how it turned out! I also made some delicious truffles but I’ll save those for another day! 🙂 This is the first time I’ve used cocoa butter and the smell (and the taste) of it melting is so wonderful I could have eaten it on its own! 😛 🙂 I have used creamed coconut in this recipe which I softened slightly in the microwave before adding. You can make these chocolates into anything you want them to be – plain, nutty, fruity, salty, spicy. I used whole hemp seeds with cinnamon; linseeds with nutmeg; pecans; coconut, and rosemary & pink Himalayan salt. All very tasty in their own right! What’s your favourite?

Gather

  • 20g cocoa butter
  • 20g cacao powder
  • 10g agave
  • 20g creamed coconut
  • Toppings of choice. e.g. coconut, nuts, raisins, seeds

Prepare

  1. Melt the cocoa butter on a low heat.
  2. Stir in the cacao powder.
  3. Add the agave, then gently stir in the creamed coconut until smooth and glossy.
  4. For plain chocolates, pour into chocolate moulds or spread onto greaseproof paper.
  5. For flavoured chocolates put the topping in the chocolate mould first

    before filling with chocolate. Sprinkle the topping over the chocolate on the greaseproof paper.

  6. Put in the fridge until set (10-15 minutes).
  7. Remove from the moulds.
  8. Enjoy!

Serve & Store

  • It is ideal to store these in the fridge although room temperature works also.
  • Serve as after dinner chocolates.
  • Sneak one (or two) when nobody is looking! 😛

26 thoughts on “C = Chocolate! :)

    • Hello Lisa 🙂 Thank you! 🙂 I love coconut so I’m not the best person to ask but I don’t think you can taste it a lot! You could always do as Milica suggested and switch it for a nut butter 🙂

      Additionally, coconut oil can have a much milder taste depending if its organic, cold pressed and virgin and the coconut taste is not noticeable at all. Likewise the unsweetened carton coconut milk which is in many of my recipes doesn’t taste anything like the tinned coconut milk and again the coconut taste is barely noticeable! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Very nice to meet you and thanks for dropping by my blog today. What lovely photos you have created and how fun it must have been to test those amazing chocolates. I spend my day writing suspense novels. Around four each afternoon, there is nothing that brings on the muse like a couple bites of chocolate. I have never used cacao powder. How different is it from cocoa powder?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Nancy 🙂 and welcome to Life Diet Health. Cacao and cocoa are very similar yet miles apart! Cacao is the most purest form of (raw) chocolate you can eat and cacao powder is made by cold pressing unroasted cacao beans. Cocoa powder has been highly heat treated and therefore the enzyme content is altered. Cocoa is also often mixed with sugar and can be found in varying shades depending on its alkalisation. Cacao contains many antioxidants as well as being rich in minerals and it has a much stronger taste than cocoa. I hope that makes sense?!

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.